The Walter Scott Prize

venue Baillie Gifford Marquee
date Friday 17 June
time 6:15 pm - 7:00 pm
ticket prices £5

Generously given each year and founded by the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch to honour the memory of their great kinsman, the writer who invented the historical novel, this prize can be career-changing for both winners and those who are shortlisted. Not only is the £25,000 to the winner and the £1,500 to each of those shortlisted significant, the exposure and renown are also of great benefit. Benjamin Myers, the 2018 winner, saw his name on 30 million postmarks congratulating him and his Walter Scott Prize winning book The Gallows Pole is about to be a major BBC TV drama series. The Duke of Buccleuch will announce the name of the winner live on stage at the festival.

The title(s) below will be available for sale in the festival bookshop.

Please support us if you can by making a donation. Your contribution will help us continue to bring authors and audiences together again in 2023 and beyond.