The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction

venue Cullen Kilshaw Marquee
date Thursday 15 June
time 5:30 pm
ticket prices £6


Opening the festival with a literary fanfare is the £25,000 Walter Scott Prize, the winner of which is announced live on stage by the Duke of Buccleuch in a thrilling hour of suspense and time travel. Seven distinguished authors converge in the Borders from across the world to see their superb historical novels celebrated and to learn who takes this year’s title. Take your ringside seat and come with us to Australia, Tahiti, Crimea and Massachusetts, via rural Ireland, Dorset and Belfast! Don’t miss this world-class gathering of literary talent.

The title(s) below will be available for sale in the festival bookshop.

Please support us if you can by making a donation. Your contribution will help us continue to bring authors and audiences together again in 2023 and beyond.