The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction

venue Cullen Kilshaw Marquee
date Thursday 13 June
time 5:30 pm
ticket prices £8 | £6

This year the prize came under the new management of The Abbotsford Trust, but the prize ceremony returns triumphant to Harmony Garden as ever! Start your festival-going with a feast of wonderful historical fiction, see a phalanx of literary stars reading from their work, and find out who has won the feted £25,000 prize in this opening gala event. All six shortlisted authors will be there from across the globe: Tom Crewe, Kevin Jared Hosein, Joseph O’Connor, Kai Thomas, Rose Tremain and Tan Twan Eng. While you wait, lovers of historical fiction can be inspired by a visit to Abbotsford, the extraordinary home of Walter Scott and the spiritual home of the prize.

The title(s) below will be available for sale in the festival bookshop.

Please support us if you can by making a donation. Your contribution will help us continue to bring authors and audiences together again in 2024 and beyond.